Honorary Degree Recipients


Recipients of Doctor of Science honoris causa (honorary degrees)

1997 Kenneth S. Warren, MD VP of Academic Affairs, The Picower Institute
1999 Leon Rosenberg, MD Former Dean Yale University School of Medicine
2006 Anthony Cerami, PhD President Emeritus, The Picower Institute;
Founder, Chairman of the Board & CEO, Araim Pharmaceuticals
2006 Thomas Degnan, MD Former Chairman, Department of Research, North Shore University Hospital;
COO, North Shore-LIJ Research Institute (now: The Feinstein Institute of Northwell Health)
2007 Barry S. Coller, MD Physician in Chief, Vice President for Medical Affairs, David Rockefeller Professor, Rockefeller University
2007 Lawrence Scherr, MD Betsey Cushing Whitney Academic Dean Emeritus, North Shore-LIJ Health System (now: Northwell Health)
2008 Hans Wigzell, MD, PhD Professor Emeritus, Immunology
President Emeritus, Karolinska Institutet
2008 Joseph Loscalzo, MD, PhD Chairman, Dept of Medicine, Physician-in-Chief
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
2009 K. Frank Austen, MD Astra Zeneca Professor of Respiratory and Inflammatory Diseases, Department of Medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
2009 Louis W. Sullivan, MD CEO & Chairman of The Sullivan Alliance
President Emeritus Morehouse School of Medicine
2010 Jules Hirsch, MD Professor Emeritus
Physician-in-Chief Emeritus
2010 Masanobu Kawakami, MD, PhD Professor Emeritus
Professor, Department of Medicine, Jichi Medical University, Saitama, Japan
2010 William Paul, MD Former Chief, Lab of Immunology, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
2011 Daniel L. Kastner, MD, PhD Scientific Director, National Human Genome Research Institute, National Institutes of Health (NIH)
2012 Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD Distinguished Service Professor of Surgery, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
2013 Frederick W. Alt, PhD Senior Investigator and Director, Program in Cellular and Molecular Medicine, Boston Children’s Hospital
2014 Max Dale Cooper, MD Professor, Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Emory University
2015 Ulf Anderson, MD, PhD Professor, Chairman of the Pediatric Unit, Karolinska Institutet
2015 Carla Shatz, PhD Sapp Family Provostial Professor, Stanford University
2016 Charles A Dinarello, MD Professor of Medicine and Immunology, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Professor of Experimental Medicine, Radboud University, The Netherlands
2016 Ann Dunne, BS President of the Anthony Cerami & Anne Dunne Foundation
2016 Thomas R Insel, MD Director of Clinical Neuroscience at Verily (formerly Google)
Former Director of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIH)
2017 Ronald A. DePinho, MD Professor and Past President, MD Anderson Cancer Center
2017 Dean Kamen Inventor and Entrepreneur, DEKA Research and Development Corporation
2018 Mina Bissell, PhD Distinguished Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
2018 Anthony Zador, MD, PhD Professor, The Alle Davis and Maxine Harrison Professor of Neurosciences, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory