Feinstein Academy of Scholars

The Feinstein Academy of Scholars was formed to develop an integrated, cohesive network of researchers and scholars who share a passion to revolutionize translational research.

The Academy brings together world-renowned scientists who share the Feinstein Institute’s mission to produce knowledge to cure disease. Founding members of the Academy include recipients of an honorary doctoral degree from the Elmezzi Graduate School of Molecular Medicine, Marsh and Match lecturers and recipients of the Cerami, Ross or Advancing Women in Science and Medicine (AWSM) prizes, and other Feinstein Institute awardees.

Founding Members

Advancing Women in Science and Medicine

2017 Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw 2013 Laurie Glimcher, MD
2016 Jennifer Doudna, PhD 2012 Anne Young, MD, PhD
2015 Cori Bargmann, PhD 2011 Gail Golden, MBA, PhD
2014 Elizabeth Gould, PhD

Cerami Award

2016 Tak W. Mak, PhD 2014 David J. Weatherall, MD, FRCP, FRS
2016 Lawrence Steinman, MD 2014 Göran K. Hansson, MD, PhD
2015 Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD* 2013 Carl Nathan, MD

Elmezzi Graduate School Honorary Degree Recipients

2017 Dean Kamen 2010 Masanobu Kawakami, MD, PhD
2017 Ronald DePinho, MD 2010 William Paul, MD*
2016 Charles A. Dinarello, MD 2009 K. Frank Austen, MD
2016 Ann Dunne, BS 2009 Louis W. Sullivan, MD
2016 Thomas R. Insel, MD 2008 Hans Wigzell, MD, PhD
2015 Ulf Andersson, MD, PhD 2008 Joseph Loscalzo, MD, PhD
2015 Carla Shatz, PhD 2007 Barry S. Coller, MD
2014 Max Dale Cooper, MD 2007 Lawrence Scherr, MD*
2013 Frederick W. Alt, PhD 2006 Anthony Cerami, PhD
2012 Thomas E. Starzl, MD, PhD* 2006 Thomas Degnan, MD
2011 Daniel L. Kastner, MD, PhD 1999 Leon Rosenberg, MD
2010 Jules Hirsch, MD* 1997 Kenneth S. Warren, MD*

Match Lecture

2017 James Rothman, PhD 2004 Peter Doherty, PhD
2016 Peter C. Agre, MD 2003 James Watson, PhD
2014 David Baltimore, MD, PhD 2002 Paul Greengard, MD
2012 Harald zur Hausen, MD 2001 Gunter Blobel, MD, PhD
2011 Jack W. Szostak, PhD 2000 Matthew Scharff, MD
2009 Andrew Z. Fire, PhD 1999 Bruce R. Stillman, PhD
2008 Michael Brown, MD 1998 Luc Montagnier, MD
2007 Stanley Prusiner, MD 1997 Darwin Prockop, MD, PhD
2006 Paul Nurse, PhD 1996 William Paul, MD*
2005 Kary Mullis, PhD

Marsh Lecture in Molecular Medicine

2017 Ira Mellman, PhD 2011 Ralph M. Steinman, MD*
2017 Rudolph L. Leibel, MD 2010 Klas Karre, MD, PhD
2016 Jennifer Doudna, PhD 2010 Laurie M. Glimcher, MD
2016 Bruce R. Stillman, PhD 2009 Fred H. Gage, PhD
2015 Michael A. Schwartz, MD 2009 Shizuo Akira, MD, PhD
2014 Richard A. Flavell, PhD, FRS 2008 Richard P. Lifton, MD, PhD
2013 Michael L. Dustin, PhD 2007 Elizabeth Blackburn, PhD
2013 Jeffrey M. Friedman, MD, PhD 2006 Charles A. Dinarello, MD
2012 Tadatsuga Taniguchi, PhD 2005 Jan Andersson, MD
2012 Michael P. Stryker, PhD

The Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine

2017 Jeffrey V. Ravetch, MD, PhD 2014 John J. O’Shea, MD
2016 Charles N. Serhan, PhD, DSc 2013 Dan R. Littman, MD, PhD
2015 Lewis C. Cantley, PhD